Home / Monster Training / Job Ads / Manage Your Monster+ Job Ads

Manage Your Monster+ Job Ads

All the jobs you create are conveniently saved in a central location. This is where you can take action on your previously posted jobs and access your applicants. Monster offers the management tools you need to effortlessly view, edit, expire, renew and more. You can track the progress of your jobs with performance data and manage your promoted jobs as well, by either stopping or reinstating the promotion budget.

In this article we’ll review everything you need to know to successfully manage your jobs with Monster. Read on or choose a topic below for more details.

Locate your jobs

When you sign into your Monster account, you will see “Jobs” at the top of the page. Click on it to be directed to a list of all your positions:

By default, 10 jobs are displayed on each page, but at the bottom right corner of the page you can change that and view up to 25 or 50 jobs at a time:


Sort & filter

Organize your view using the sorting and filtering capabilities available right at the top of the page.

Sorting helps you rearrange the list of jobs according to your selection.

Here is what you can do: 

  • Show the recently updated jobs first. This is the default setting when you open the Jobs page. 
  • Show the recently updated jobs last. 
  • Sort the jobs by job title in alphabetical order.
    (A-Z or Z-A). 
  • Sort the jobs by location in alphabetical order.
    (A-Z or Z-A). 

Filtering allows you to narrow down your list of jobs, so you can focus only on the ones you need to manage at the moment.

You can filter using the following values:

  • Job title – View jobs based on their title.
  • Location – View jobs posted in a specific location. You can select one or multiple locations.
  • Status – View jobs based on their status. For example: draft, open, closed, expired.

Job ad information

The Jobs view shows very useful information for each of your positions. Let’s take a closer look at what each field means.

  • Job title – Here you can see the title of the job ad. Clicking on it will show you performance metrics for this job ad. Check out the Monitor Performance section below to learn more.
  • Location – This is the job location that was selected during setup.
  • Updated – This field shows you the date the last action was taken on the job.
  • Applicants – Here you can monitor how many applications you have received to date. Clicking on the applicant number will bring you to the Applicants page, where you can view and manage your applicants. To learn more about this topic, review our article on Applicant Management.
  • Needs review – This number indicates that you just received new applicants who are waiting to be reviewed. Use this to quickly see when new applications have been submitted.
  • Views – Mark the total number of views your job ad has received, as both a free or promoted job.
  • Paid clicks – If you promote your job ad with a budget, you will be billed based on Cost Per Click (CPC). Paid clicks are the actions you are being charged for (i.e., when a candidate clicks, taps, or swipes to view your job ad.)
  • Promotion – If your job ad has been promoted with a budget, the daily average spend will be displayed here. Also, this is where you can stop the promotion or reinstate it. If you choose not to promote your job ad during setup and change your mind, you can always add a budget from here. Check out the Manage Your Promoted Jobs section below to learn more.
  • Total cost – This field shows the promotion spend to date. If no budget has been associated to the job, it will be indicated as “Free.”
  • Status – These are the most frequent statuses you may see:

    • Draft – The job ad has been saved in your account but not posted yet.
    • Open – The job ad has been posted and is currently live on the Monster site.
    • Closed – The job ad has been manually removed from the site before its expiration date or the budget promotion has ended (manually or upon reaching its target).
    • Expired – The job ad has hit its expiration date.

Please Note: Free jobs expire automatically after 60 days but if you decide to add a budget, the expiration date will get updated based on how long the promotion will last. If you decide to cancel the promotion early, the job ad will stay published as free until it hits its expiration date (or until you decide to manually remove it).

Job ad actions

Right below the job title, the Actions menu will provide you with a couple of management tools.

Depending on the status of your job, you will have the ability to: edit, view, complete & post or delete.

  • Edit – Takes you back to the posting flow, where you can update the information of an open job.
  • View – Opens the live job ad. This allows you to retrieve the direct link of the job ad and view it just as seekers see it.
  • Complete & post – If your job ad is in draft and you’re ready to post, you can finalize it and publish it to the site.
  • Delete – Remove a draft you don’t need anymore.

Tip: For quick actions, use the status dropdown menu on the right.

  • To repost a job ad, simply change the status from “Closed” to “Open” and it will reappear in seeker’s search results. Just know that any promotion associated with the closed job will not be reinstated. You will have to set up the promotion separately after it is opened.
  • To remove a job ad before its expiration date, change the status from “Open” to “Closed” and it will be removed from the site.

Manage your promoted jobs

When it comes to promoted jobs, there are a few actions you can take right from the Promotion column.

  • Stop Promotion – You have the flexibility to cancel the promotion at any time. Just choose this option from the dropdown menu shown below.

The job ad will remain visible to seekers – but in a free state, which means it will tend to fall back in search results. When you are ready to remove it from the site, change the status to “Closed” or let it expire.

Please note: If you have a promoted job ad that you wish to remove completely before its expiration date, manually change the status from “Open” to “Closed” and the promotion will be stopped and the job will be removed from search results.

  • Promote again – Once the promotion is closed, you can reinstate the promotion by setting another budget. Click “Promote Again” to choose a new budget for this job ad.

Tip: If your job ad has been posted for free but you want to increase your ranking in search results and performance, you can promote it right from the “Promotion” column.

If you have a tough role to fill, are looking for candidates with particular skills, or you simply need to hire a lot of candidates quickly – then promoting your job ad with Monster will be most effective for you.

Take a look at our article, Promoting Your Monster Job Ads, to learn how to extend your reach.

Monitor performance

After posting your offer, you can track the progress of your jobs with performance data, which helps you evaluate the effectiveness of your job ad.

Clicking on the title of the job ad will show you some details related to Job Ad Performance and its promotion.

Job Ad Performance:

  • Views – The total number of views your offer has received, as both a free or promoted job.
  • Paid Clicks – This is the number of actions that are using your promotion budget. This includes the number of clicks, taps, or swipes candidates have made to view your job ad.
  • Applications – This shows you how many applications you have received for this job ad to date.
  • Total cost – This field shows the promotion spend to date.

Current Promotion – If your job ad is currently being promoted, you will see metrics that are tied to this specific promotion. You will see your budget along with the scheduled end date, paid clicks and the cost to date.